The Women of the Year Network in Denmark is founded by Professor Rubina Raja and Dr Rikke Schmidt Kjærgaard. The executive committee furthermore consists of Professor Marie-Louise Nosch and Professor Majken Schulz.  

The initiative culminates in a lunch each year, the first of which takes place at Carlsberg Academy in May 2022 and focuses on women in academia. Close to 100 women from academia, industry and culture come together in a professional, inspiring and motivational setting. Each guest is regarded as Woman of the Year and represents all extraordinary women making a difference every day. Women of the Year Lunch gives women the opportunity to hear the views from other remarkable women on important issues, while encouraging networking, visibility and role models for younger talented women.  

The idea for this initiative is inspired by Women of the Year Lunch in Britain, who each year elects more than 400 women to attend the annual lunch, each handpicked for their achievements and contribution to society. We are grateful for the exchange and support for developing this initiative within a Danish context.